Greece – Targeting as evidence. On the arrest on anarchist Christos Politis

translation of the letter of comrade Kostas Mparlis, who was arrested together with imprisoned comrade Christos Politis.

Christos Politis is acccused for participating in terrorists’ organization

________________
*athens.indymedia.org

________________

Targeting as evidence – On the arrest on anarchist Christos Politis

On Saturday December 4, around 16:00 and while we were sitting with the comrade and friend Christos Politis in a cafeteria in a central area of Exarchia, we became witnesses of a Hollywood-esque police mission. We would soon find out the hard way we were to become co-stars.

While we were uneasily observing the 20-30 policemen standing close to us and looking at the opposite direction, we decided to leave. To my surprise I saw them moving towards Christos and when I got closer to see what’s going on, they moved towards me too. They forced us to the wall, and they gave no answers to our questions on what’s going on. Amidst protestation from people working in or visiting the area, they lead us cuffed behind our back to Akademias street. There, they put us in a police car and with the company of a noisy convoy of motorbikes and cars they lead us to GADA (Athens Police Headquarters). On the way, a policeman on a motorbike approached the window of the car we were in and, calling us with our last names, he told us we were going to pay for a lot…

Once we were there (GADA) they lead us to the 12th floor and, following orders of someone they called “chief” they lead us to a room and immediately separated us from each other. I was put in an adjacent room cuffed behind my back, facing the wall, with three hooded men guarding me. In my repeating questions on why was I there, why was I cuffed and if was accused of anything, the only answers I got were “you will see” and “when you’ll be accused of something you’ll be the first to know”. They searched me top to toe for the umpteenth time, they thoroughly noted everything I had on me, subsequently put it in nylon bags and took it away.
Time was passing by and while I was still getting no answers, at a certain point towards nighttime I heard from a nearby area a newscast talking about arrests (men-women), guns, explosives, terrorist lairs and so on. The scenario that had been already constructed hours before our adduction, was now taking shape.
Later, while I was still tied up facing a wall and deprived of any communication or eye-contact with anyone, I demanded a chair to at least sit, which they gave me. Some hours later, I heard from outside the room some people saying “let’s see him now”. The door opened, the hooded guards turned me to face it and left. Their place was taken by others who tried to interrogate me. In their typical questions, and in their prompt to make a conversation that “might help me in my present state”, and in their asking me to provide “explanations to ease my situation”, the only answer I gave was that I wanted to know if I was accused of something and talk to my lawyer or otherwise, to be let go. After insisting for a while they commented “he is not cooperating” to each other and left the room. Their place was then taken by a hooded man and a more “pleasant” guy, who suggested I didn’t turn back to the wall and to chat for a bit instead. I gave him the same answer and I turned to the wall myself. Some hours later I heard some voices saying “he is going”. They got in, untied me and said “take your stuff, you’re leaving”. While I was gathering my stuff I repeatedly asked about Christos, for whom they told me he is being held.

Despite my 16-hours discomfort, the real discomfort began once I left GADA. While the lawyer couldn’t find out if Christos was accused of anything, I began to discover the attack of the media against me during my retention. I learned that I’m extremely “violent”, “blood-thirsty”, “ruthless” and more, according to the media. When I got home I found out that not only a search had been carried out with no witnesses apart from policemen, but also the lock had been changed. Still trying to realize what’s happening, what’s missing from my apartment and what I can do, I learn (from the media again) that my comrade Christos Politis is being charged (with non-existent evidence apparently) as a member of an armed organization, the name and actions of which were not specified. The following day in the court where the arrested of Saturday were being tried, there was a solidarity gathering. There I was informed by lawyers on the confiscation account on my apartment, which included the following “unspeakable” elements: old photographs, books, a knife inside a black holster with the inscription “Crete”, my computers, as well as a wisp of hair, which I suppose testifies to the fact that I cut my hair myself, and not the desire of the anti-terrorist sector (ATS) to have my DNA spare for any use. After I left the area of the courts, cops were waiting for me by my motorcycle. They stopped me and searched me and to my question “What now?” they told me the officer had something to tell me. After a couple of minutes, while comrades were gathering around me, they let me go. In the following two days, Christos is summarily remanded in custody, making evident that no evidence is needed, apart from the profile that the ATS concoct and leak through their cooperators, the journalists.

So the more non-existent the evidence, the more shameless the media mendacity that followed. Just like a cesspool exploding, unsigned publications emerged, which present me as a definite member of organizations and “temporarily free”, my house as a terrorist lair, and the ATS at fault for still leaving me wander free. Many comrades are photographed as members of one or another “organization”, completely unsubstantially, arrest warrants are being advertised on newscasts and so, what was already commonplace is being proven yet once more: that blood-thirsty, ruthless, cannibals and henchmen of the mechanisms of the system are the journalists and co., who reproduce this mud.

In a period of political, social and financial crisis, when the certainties provided by the system have collapsed and everything seems possible, the state, by personifying the internal enemy, by intensifying the suppression against the movement, diffuses it into all social levels. Where in the recent past in lack of evidence the state penalized personal relationships and friendships has now begun creating them in order to penalize them.
And if the state has decided to annihilate its political enemies by fabricating culprits and suspects, the journalists have undertaken the dirty work of slander and social isolation of those who are targeted.

As of my person, I declare that I am an anarchist and the only “organization” in which I actively participate for years is the one of the social fights which promote friendly relationships, solidarity with the oppressed and the fighters, the self-organizing, the horizontal structures, the clashes for the overthrow of the state and the capital, to the freedom of all of us.

BACK OFF RUFFIANS – GO FORTH COMRADES
FREEDOM TO CHRISTOS POLITIS
FREEDOM TO ALL PRISONERS UNTIL THE LAST JAIL COLLAPSES

Kostas Mparlis
16/12/2010

_________________________________________

Kostas Mparlis – Sull’arresto dell’anarchico Christos Politis

Sabato 4 Dicembre, intorno alle 16 mentre eravamo seduti con il compagno e amico Christos Politis in un bar nella zona centrale di Exarchia, siamo diventati testimoni di una hollywoodiana operazione di polizia. Presto abbiamo scoperto con difficoltà che saremmo diventati delle celebrità.

Mentre venivamo controllati con disagio da 20-30 poliziotti, che ci stavano vicini e guardavano nella direzione opposta, abbiamo deciso di andarcene. Con mia sorpresa li ho visti muoversi verso Christos e quando mi sono avvicinato per vedere cosa stesse succedendo, loro si sono avvicinati anche a me. Ci hanno sbattuti contro il muro, e non hanno risposto alle nostre domande riguardo cosa stesse succedendo. Viste le proteste delle persone che lavoravano nella zona, ci hanno portato ammanettati in Akademias street. Lì, ci hanno messi in una macchina della polizia e con la compagnia di un rumoroso seguito di moto e macchine siamo stati condotti al GADA (Sede principale della polizia di Atene). Nel tragitto, un poliziotto sulla moto si è avvicinato al finestrino della macchina dove stavamo noi e, chiamandosi per cognome, ci ha detto che l’avremmo pagata duramente…

Giunti al GADA ci hanno portati al dodicesimo piano e, seguendo gli ordini di qualcuno che chiamavano “capo” ci hanno trasferiti in una stanza e subito dopo ci hanno separati. Io sono finito, ammanettato, in una stanza adiacente, faccia al muro, con tre vigilanti incappucciati che mi controllavano. Nel mio ripetersi di domande sul perché mi trovassi lì, perché fossi ammanettato o se ero accusato di qualcosa, l’unica risposta è stata “lo vedrai” e “quando sarai accusato di qualcosa sarai il primo a saperlo”. Mi hanno perquisito da capo a piedi per l’ennesima volta, hanno verbalizzato tutto ciò che avevo con me, mettendo poi tutto in una borsa poi portata via.

Il tempo passava, mentre io non ricevevo risposte. Ad un certo punto nella notte ho sentito da un ambiente vicino un notiziario che parlava di arresti (uomo-donna),pistole, esplosivi, covi terroristi e quant’altro. Lo scenario che era stato già costruito ore prima del nostro arresto, adesso stava prendendo forma.

Dopo, mentre ancora ero ammanettato faccia al muro e privato di ogni comunicazione o contatto visivo con chiunque, ho richiesto una sedia per sedermi, e me l’hanno data. Qualche ora dopo, ho sentito da fuori la stanza che qualcuno diceva “Andiamo a vederlo ora”. La porta si aprì, le guardie incappucciate mi girarono per affrontarmi e andarono via. Vennero rimpiazzate da altri che cercarono di interrogarmi. Alle loro tipiche domande, e ai loro tentativi di fare una conversazione che “mi avrebbe aiuto nell’attuale stato”, alla loro richiesta di fornire “spiegazioni per chiarire la mia posizione”, l’unica risposta che gli ho dato è stata che volevo sapere se ero accusato di qualcosa e parlare al mio avvocato o altrimenti essere rilasciato. Dopo aver insistito un po’ si sono detti “non sta cooperando” e sono usciti dalla stanza. Sono stati sostituiti da un uomo incappucciato e da un tipo più “gentile”, il quale mi ha suggerito di chiacchierare un po’ e di non girarmi verso il muro. Gli ho dato la stessa risposta e mi sono girato verso il muro. Qualche ora più tardi ho sentito alcune voci che dicevano “lui sta per andare”. Sono entrati, mi hanno tolto le manette e hanno detto “prenditi le tue cose, stai per andare”. Mentre stavo raccogliendo le mie cose ho chiesto ripetutamente di Christos, e mi hanno detto che era stato imprigionato.

Nonostante le mie sedici ore di disagio, il vero disagio è cominciato una volta lasciato il GADA. Mentre l’avvocato non riusciva a capire se Christos fosse accusato di qualcosa, io ho iniziato a scoprire l’attacco dei media contro di me durante la mia detenzione. Ho scoperto che sono estremamente “violento”, “assetato di sangue”, “spietato” e altro ancora, secondo i media. Quando sono tornato a casa ho trovato che non solo era stata fatta dai poliziotti una perquisizione senza testimoni, ma anche la serratura era stata cambiata. Provando ancora a capire cosa stava succedendo, cosa mancava dal mio appartamento e cosa potevo fare, ho saputo (sempre dai media) che il mio compagno Christos Politis era stato accusato (apparentemente senza prove) di essere un membro di un’organizzazione armata, il cui nome ed azioni non erano specificati. Il giorno seguente nel tribunale dove gli arrestati di Sabato erano stati giudicati, c’è stato un presidio solidale. Lì sono stato informato dagli avvocati circa il mandato di sequestro del mio appartamento, che include il seguenti elementi “indicibili”: vecchie foto, libri, un coltello dentro un fodero nero con la scritta “Crete”, i miei computer, una ciocca di capelli, che suppongo dimostri che mi taglio i capelli da solo, e non desidero che la divisione antiterrorista (ATS) abbia il mio dna per qualsiasi uso. Dopo aver lasciato la zona del tribunale, i poliziotti mi stavano aspettando vicino alla mia moto. Mi hanno fermato e perquisito, e alla mia domanda “E ora?” mi hanno detto che un ufficiale aveva qualcosa da dirmi. Dopo un paio di minuti, mentre i compagni si radunavano intorno a me, mi hanno lasciato andare. Nei due giorni seguenti, Christos è stato sommariamente tenuto in custodia, rendendo evidente che non c’era bisogno di prove, eccetto il ritratto architettato dall’ATS e ciò che era trapelato attraverso i loro cooperatori, i giornalisti.

Quindi alla non esistenza di prove, sono seguite le falsità senza vergogna dei media. Come un pozzo nero che esplode, sono emersi scritti non firmati, che descrivevamo me come membro di un’organizzazione “al momento libero”, la mia casa come un covo terrorista, e l’ATS che si sentiva in colpa per avermi lasciato liberi. Molti compagni sono stati ritratti come membri di un’altra “organizzazione”, completamente inesistente, mandati di arresto sono stati diffusi nei notiziari e altro ancora, ciò che già si sapeva è stato ripetuto ancora una volta: che assetati di sangue, spiegati, cannibali e tirapiedi del meccanismo del sistema sono i giornalisti e chi diffonde questo fango.

In un momento di crisi politica, sociale e finanziaria, dove le certezze garantite dal sistema sono collassate e tutto sembra possibile, lo stato, tramite l’impersonificazione del nemico interno, l’intensificazione della repressione contro il movimento, si diffonde in tutti i livelli sociali. Se nel recente passato in mancanza di prove lo stato ha criminalizzato le relazioni personali e l’amicizia, adesso ha iniziato a crearle per poi criminalizzarle.

E se lo stato ha deciso di distruggere i suoi nemici politici fabbricando colpevoli e sospetti, i giornalisti fanno il lavoro sporco di calunniare e isolare socialmente coloro che sono loro bersagli.

In quanto a me, dichiaro che sono un anarchico e l’unica “organizzazione” dove partecipo attivamente da anni è quella dei conflitti sociali dove creo relazioni amichevoli, solidarietà con gli oppressi e coi combattenti, autorganizzazione, strutture orizzontali, lotta per il rovesciamento dello stato e il capitale, per la libertà di tutti noi.

State indietro ruffiani – Andiamo avanti compagni

Libertà per Christos Politis

Libertà per tutti i prigionieri fino a che l’ultima prigione crolli

Kostas Mparlis

______________________

traduzione dall’inglese: * cenere

Questa voce è stata pubblicata in presxs. Contrassegna il permalink.